Home

Written on December 20th, 2009

Snow, lovely snow!

This morning I awoke to a beautiful blanket of crystal white snow covering every inch of the landscape. What a fantastic sight! It has been snowing in the last couple of days in Holland. It happens so rarely here that most of us love to see it. I don’t particularly like the cold but I think the snow is beautiful. It’s cathartic. It covers up all the ugly. Blankets everything in pristine white. Leads to cuddling up under blankets with a good book and not feeling guilty because it’s cold outside. Plus photographing snowflakes are truly beautiful. It is still hard to believe that snowflakes can be this beautiful. The snowflakes, big and perfect, fall gently from the winter sky. I always love the first snowfall of the year – it just makes my heart sing. Only God can make something as pure, beautiful, and white as a snowflake, each one so unique and complex.

Although I sometimes think winter weather is a huge hassle, I also really love the feeling of being home after being outside for a chunk of time. The relief upon walking in and changing into dry clothes almost makes going outside in the first place totally worth it. There is nothing better on a cold winter day than a steaming glass of hot chocolate that warms me in every way. You can’t beat the feeling of the warm glass mug around your hands. Cozy and snug sipping the hot drink froth on your nose. It is amazing and I will never get enough of it.

Another little miracle happened to me today while having lots of outside fun. I saw perfect love in a child’s smile and the spirit of Christmas pass between a mother and her child. How wonderfully perfect it is that in the captivating smile of a young girl I find the magic of Christmas. Her grace and innocence remind me, once again, that Christmas is more a matter of spirit than anything material. In the love of a mother for her child I find the magic of Christmas; and more that that I rediscovered the meaning of Christmas.

The gifts we give that matter most are the ones that cannot be bought or sold. The love we share and the memories we leave behind, are the greatest gifts we can give. They are the only gifts that last a lifetime.

Oh well here’s hoping for a white Christmas. We hope there will be more snow to come on the 25th instead of ice and rain.



Happy holiday, everybody!


Signing off,
Love,
Mylda

Leave a Reply

